All Topics / General Property / Anyone with experience in Defence Force homes

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Profile photo of dragon4dragon4
    @dragon4

Hi everyone

A number of years ago, when working as a lending officer in a bank, a couple of my clients purchased investment properties on a 10 year rental arrangement with the Defence Force.

Having done some limited reaseach at the time, it was indicated to me that the purchase prices of the properties were inflated because of the rental guarantee.

Has anyone had any experience in this form of property investment and been able to pick up +cf deals?

Thanks,
    Dragon

Profile photo of Mortgage HunterMortgage Hunter
    Participant
    @mortgage-hunter

I have a lot of experience with them both as a broker and as an ex Army Officer.

I don’t think they are too inflated in the purchase price although I believe that the 6 or 9 yr guaranteed rental attracts a premium management fee. They maintain them to a high standard and repaint at the end of the lease. If you have a 9 year lease they recarpet as well.

Let me know if I can answer any specific questions. The term to search under is DHA.

Cheers,

Simon Macks
    Mortgage Broker
    [email protected]
    0425 228 985

Comments may not be relevant to individual circumstances. If you intend making any investment, financial or taxation decision you should consult a professional adviser.

Profile photo of Mama2MiaMama2Mia
    Participant
    @mama2mia

HI Dragon,

My parents invested in a Defence home a few months ago and you’re right, prices do seem inflated, its definitely NOT postitive cashflow and they are puttin in a significant amount extra to cover the loan costs each month. Plus there are management fees which is i think about $1500 per year (not 100% sure). But good thing is its gaurenteed rent for 9 years for them so hopefully at the end of it the capital growth would cover the losses they’ve made during the 9 years.