All Topics / Help Needed! / Noob Introduction and asking for advice

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Profile photo of RumblingRumbling
    Participant
    @rumbling

Hi Everyone

I am basically a complete newbie in real estate investing, although I own one IP, I was totally clueless when I bought it and probably didnt set it up right.

I am now hell bent on investing in property with a goal to be financially independent in 8 – 10 years.

Please excuse me for any ignorant or newbie ideas, I am playing catch up with knowledge and learning as much and as fast as I can.

Here are my (current) investment goals

• Annual income goal – AUD120k passive income in 8 years
    • Required capital = Annual income goal ÷ desired return % (4.5%). 120,000/0.45 = 2.67M (approximately)
    • Using whatever strategy is most suitable for my goals, e.g. current thinking is to purchase 8 – 10 properties in 8 – 10 years, sell half of them and pay off rest. its thats simple right….. : )
    • I dont mind if it is residential or commercial, and I am location agnostic. 

Here are some of the details of my details –

• I currently live outside Australia, so I have some different parameters when borrowing money in Australia
    • I bought my current (only) IP in 2020 for $390k, currently owe $300k, recent valuation is at approx $700k (bought in Tugan QLD, prices in that area have gone crazy). the loan was a variable P&I (I believe I should have got an interest only loan….), with interest at 3.42% with redraw facility at CBA.
    • so I should have approx $300k equity in the current IP

My questions are below and any additional advice or suggestions are really appreciated. I basically have very limited knowledge at this stage and dont know what I dont know.

1. Should I immediately refinance my current mortgage to interest only (I believe this is a no brainer)