All Topics / General Property / Home Vs Investment Property in the Current Climate

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Profile photo of EdEd
    Participant
    @eddies

Hi all,

I’m new to investing (and this forum) and am sure this topic has been discussed before but I think my query has a slightly different twist on it so I will explain my situation first. I am currently renting in Sydney and would like to buy a PPOR, however my gut feeling is not to buy a PPOR right now as prices are dropping. I do have a property overseas and would sell that to buy a PPOR in Sydney. Selling the overseas property would give me approximately 66% of the value of the property I would hope to buy in Sydney.

I am also considering buying an IP in Australia but not in Sydney (possibly Brisbane). I would only buy an IP if it returned a positive cash flow, capital growth would be great but a secondary consideration. I have cash in Australia to fund the IP purchase.

My questions are these:
    – Given the above scenario in terms of Sydney prices dropping and the fact that I have a lump sum to put towards the PPOR, does buying an IP first make sense? I ask this question partly because if it went according to plan I would end up with an IP but also a PPOR that has an outstanding mortgage so I’m wondering if all my money (including my Australia cash) should be held to buy my PPOR. I don’t think this makes complete sense as I might never by an IP if I want all of my PPOR mortgage to be paid off first.