All Topics / Help Needed! / Flipping and Access for renovations during settlement

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of ben92ben92
    Participant
    @benpickering92

Hi Guys,

Hoping to get a bit of advice from someone with a bit of experience in this area. I’m 24 years old and have 4 investment properties, every investment I have bought using the strategy of renovating, re-financing, pulling the equity and moving forward onto the next purchase, being a carpenter by trade and having an obsession with research this has worked well for me.

I have now turned my attention to flipping some properties to replenish my cash and pay down some debt. My question is, does anyone here have any experience in getting access to a property to begin renovation works during the settlement period to keep holding costs down? If so, what are the risks/if any associated with doing this.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

With thanks, Ben

Profile photo of David HallDavid Hall
    Participant
    @wiggles2

Hi Ben,

I’ve done it extensively in my own portfolio and some of my clients have been comfortable doing it. Under WA law (it may be different where you are) there are two risks to consider;

The first is that the seller is upside down and the bank will not let them settle, you have improved the property and the bank will keep it with out paying you out. This can be common in a falling market.
    The other is that the vendor pass away between the offer being accepted and the contract going unconditional. This voids the contract.

A good selling agent will make you sign a condition that you will not make any additional claims once you have possession and will generally try to dissuade the seller from accepting. You would also be wise to insure the property. If you cause a problem and the house were to burn down you will still have to settle.