All Topics / Finance / Using line of credit to access fixed mortgage equity

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of WoodlinWoodlin
    Participant
    @woodlin

Hi folks,

This is my first time posting here, and although I’ve spent a little over a week going over the forums, I know I haven’t seen everything, so apologies if the question has been asked and answered elsewhere.

I’m new to property investing, and with my partner am in my own home, which we’ve had for 2 years. We’ve recently redone the home loan, taking advantage of a fixed interest rate of 3.99% for 5 years. In the process, we were advised we have approximately 150,000 equity in our home (we bought under market, and the area has really boomed).

We have an offset account with the mortgage, and were brainstorming how to access the equity to fund investment property deposits. Given its fixed for 5 years (groan, rookie mistake… moving on…) we believe the best way to access is setting up a personal line of credit against the equity, but have no experience of doing this – can anyone offer some insight into how it works? Can we take out a line of credit with a different financial institution to that of our home loan?

My partner, being a creative type, also suggested we could take out the line of credit and put the money straight into the offset account while we’re scouting out properties to buy. The line of credit interest rate we’ve found is 3.39%, so we’d essentially be reducing our home loan principal by using the line of credit. We will be talking with financial advisors asap, but if anyone else has done this, or considered it, I’d be grateful to hear your experiences! Similarly, if one of the more experience mentors has opinions on this, I’d be grateful for your input!

I’m also sharing in case anyone else is in a similar position – because if this works, we’ve got a honey pot for deposits!