All Topics / Help Needed! / 2 bedroom in bad suburb or 1 bedroom in good suburb?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • aftab
    Participant
    @aftabk

Hi everyone,

This forum has really been very helpful. I would like to get some information as I’m new to property investment. The plan is to buy, hold and rent/lease.

I have a budget of about 220K to buy an investment property in the Geelong area. I’m looking for good rental yield and I know my budget is a bit tight but do you think it would be wise to get a 2 bedroom house/unit in a not so good suburb (such as Corio, Norlane etc. as it would be bit cheaper to buy) or shall I invest in a 1 bedroom house/unit in a good suburb as I may not be able to get a 2 bedroom unit in a good suburb with my budget of 220K?

Thanks in advance.

Best regards.
    Aftab

Profile photo of xdrewxdrew
    Participant
    @xdrew

Always extend to where the value lies and dont limit yourself to just what you feel inherently comfortable with.

The longer term answer will be that the house sits upon a larger area of land and the land in time should increase around the base value of the house.

HOWEVER this may not either be the best way for you to invest nor your best return.

Units as such are a lot smaller, a lot less effort to maintain and still produce a good return.

If as you stated your budget is your main concern, then look towards maximizing your return so your earning income becomes the least concerning variable in the equation.

Sum it up, get what you can afford and which puts the least strain on your back pocket. It’s your first buy and at this stage you dont have the flexibility for risk or higher cost investing strategies.

Profile photo of OriginalsinnerOriginalsinner
    Participant
    @originalsinner