All Topics / Legal & Accounting / Need help to convince stepdad to loan me money to start a new property company

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of seinfeldesqueseinfeldesque
    Participant
    @seinfeldesque

Hi everyone,

I’m a total newbie to the forum and need some help/advice/suggestions.

I’ll start at the beginning so it makes sense.

Hubby and I have 3 IPs and a new business. My stepfather heard that the directors of our new biz were approaching a certain person for capital to grow the business. He then told us that he had some “company money” available and would be happy to lend it to us to grow our business instead of borrowing from the other guy.

However, hubby and I have decided that our new business is too risky and we wouldn’t like anything to go wrong and ruin our great relationship with my stepfather. However, I can’t get the idea of using that money for some other use out of my head! Because it is “company money”, my stepfather said it could only be lent to another company as opposed an individual. So, I have planted the seed that I could start a new company and use that money to invest in property.

I feel like I will have to “sell” this idea to my stepfather and convince him that I know what I am doing! Naturally, he doesn’t want to lend money to a fool. However, I don’t really know the ins and outs of investing under a company structure other than that I lose a capital gains discount. I am in need of any advice/suggestions/ideas so that I can make the most out of this opportunity, convince him to lend me the money and buy well.

I am really hoping someone out there can help :)
    Thanks

Profile photo of Ethan TimorEthan Timor
    Participant
    @ethantimor

I don’t really know the ins and outs of investing under a company structure other than that I lose a capital gains discount

Hi Seinfeld and welcome to the forum 😊