All Topics / Help Needed! / IP Deposit help

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of jesse pawlowskijesse pawlowski
    Participant
    @pennypacker

Howdie everyone I’m looking to purchase my first property and I’m looking at starting with an investment property. I would like to be able to purchase a property around the 400-450k mark. I have an 80k despot saved, my salary is 122k before. My living expenses are very low so I’m looking to maximise as much of my cash flow as possible. My question is for borrowing to purchase my first IP will the lenders require a 20% deposit or could i borrow more.

Thanks

Profile photo of sampson_701sampson_701
    Participant
    @sampson_701

Well done on your savings. I am by no means an expert but will reply since there are no others yet.

My first IP was bought with 10% deposit and I believe you could even do 5% with guarantor if you wanted to. Steve in his program generally recommends 20% for various reasons.

Seek the help of a mortgage broker. Jamie Moore who you will find on the forum has been very helpful to me and many others.

Cam
    Participant
    @cams

Since APRA threw a spanner in the works last year. You will probably find that interest rates are a fair bit higher when borrowing 90% compared to 80%..(My last property I got a I/O 4.49% on 90% LVR, 3 year honeymoon rate and was pretty happy with that) Keep in mind that you will need to factor in LMI as well when borrowing over 80% LVR (this gets added on to the loan).Other costs that you need to workout as well are Stamp Duty, Conveyancing, Building + Pest inspection, Mortgage Rego fees etc.. They are going to eat in to your deposit by about $17k or more depending on the purchase price of the property and which state that it’s in.

One other thing to consider is the unlocking equity in the future. You will have to wait longer if you go 90% now.

Profile photo of Corey BattCorey Batt
    Participant
    @cjaysa