All Topics / Creative Investing / What to do with a dead- in-the-water property…

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of Jessica MayJessica May
    Participant
    @yeawodeva

Hi everyone,
    This is my first ever post on a property investing forum, although I have been ghosting them for a few years now, picking up very valuable information and getting inspired.

I have a gnawing question. Six years ago we bought a dodgy little house in regional northern NSW, for $167,000. It was our first property, so we moved in and renovated it over 10 months(’twas a nightmare- I had a baby in the middle of it and the reno just went on and on…).

It’s now tenanted for $240 per week, but its value has been stagnant. It was valued a few months ago for $170,000.
    It’s cash flow neutral, and only has about $14,000 of equity.

I don’t really have any regrets about buying it, because I’ve learnt so much from that purchase and it was better to do something than not at all, but it does stink that all that hard work and money hasn’t shown any return at all.

My question is, do we:

1. sell it and get 5-10 grand out of it if we can

2. leave it at cashflow nuetral in a location which isn’t likely to see capital gain in the next few years at least, or

3. try something like selling on vendor’s terms(I think it’s called a ‘wrap’)?

What would you experts do if it was your mistake, not mine?

Profile photo of BennyBenny
    @benny

Hi Jessica,
    Welcome, and well done for making your first post on any property forum. Let’s see if we can help turn a spotlight onto the puzzle of “What to do next”.

Good to hear that it is cashflow neutral – my first question(s) would be around that :-

1. Are you paying Interest Only, or P&I?
    2. What is the amount of the mortgage and you monthly payments?
    3. Are you including Tax benefits in your “cashflow neutral” calcs? (i.e. is it neutral WITHOUT any Tax deductions?)