All Topics / Help Needed! / Investing in Perth

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of walterwalter
    Participant
    @walter16

Has anyone on here been looking around in Perth for an investment?
    Is waiting 12 months going to benefit me?
    I’m looking for my first investment. I’ve been eyeing off East Cannington and Bentley for a 3 or 2 bedroom villa or house.
    Just got a pre-approval today for $350k – with 70K deposit (I don’t intend to really use this, just thought I get one for the hell of it)
    Managed to save $155k
    People are telling me to buy either in Brisbane or the Goldcoast, I live in WA so I’m not sure what to do..
    Will future interest rate hikes depress the market in Perth even more? Does Perth have a future without future Mining booms?

What are your thoughts?

Profile photo of David HallDavid Hall
    Participant
    @wiggles2

Hi Walter,

I am a buyers agent in Perth. In short, the market is going to remain flat for at least the next 8-12 months.

If you do not have any other investment properties, I would suggest buying within driving distance of home, the experience you will gain over a few years will steady you for when you do go interstate. If you are inexperienced, your risk of getting burnt rises significantly, when you cannot just go and check it out and deal with it.

Property investing is about capital growth, this is what gets you out of the game, yield keeps you in. Can I suggest that in the current Perth market, you look for an add value property, where you can take a property to a higher and better use to manufacture capital, rather than waiting for the market to rise. Whilst not impossible, it is more challenging to do with a unit. A house is typically better.