All Topics / Help Needed! / Help on loans and taxes

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of LoganLogan
    Participant
    @glenmore

Hi Guys,

I’m a newbie investor trying to learn a few things from this forum. So far I’ve read through the topics but tax is still confusing for me. Would be great if anyone can help clear up a few things.Me and my wife have 3 properties. Our PPOR owned outright (in my wife’s name) which we recently got a loan for but have not withdrawn. 1 commercial property (family trust, where our company is beneficiary) with loan balance 780K which is cashflow +ve 60K/year. 1 IP residential (in our joint name) with loan balance 600K +ve cash of 3K/year. My questions are.

1. If I borrow against PPOR to pay part of loan on my commercial property, is the bank interest charged on PPOR a tax deductible? I am considering doing this as interest rate is lower on PPOR.
    2. In the case of the IP being very low cash +ve, how can we deduct the depreciation value on it? Will we be able to deduct the depreciation from any income distributed by Company from the commercial property. We are currently living overseas so we cannot negative gear our income.
    3. Bearing in mind that we found this forum too late and have structured everything this way, is there any advise on what I should do for my next IP?

Any insight and help would be appreciated.

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

1. Not to you. It could be deductible to the trust if you are on lending. If you are just paying the trust’s loan it won’t be deductible at all.

2. No. You dont own the property so cannot claim depreciation. The trust could claim depreciation.