All Topics / Help Needed! / Starting all over again after a marriage separation

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Profile photo of justp3achyjustp3achy
    Participant
    @justp3achy

Hello,

I’m new to property investing (well sort of) and would love any suggestions you can offer in regards to my current situation.

I unexpectedly separated from my husband late last year. As a result, we sold our house in Sydney and split the equity. At the time I was a stay-at-home Mum caring for our four children. I have since got a job and after my share of rejections, I finally received pre-approval to purchase another property on my own (one of the best days ever!). I’m 43 years old and my kids are living with me so I am tied down to living in Sydney (due to schools, their Dad etc). I am renting in Sydney at the moment and unfortunately I’m completely priced out of this market.

I have $410K to spend. My (possibly highly optimistic) aim is to build a portfolio that will result in me being able to purchase my own home again in Sydney. Being 43, I am aware that time is not on my side and since I have an average income, saving a deposit for a second property will take me considerable time but can be done. My Super balance is pretty miserable too so the ability to earn an income when I retire is also a big consideration. I’m looking for a positively geared property as finding the additional funds for a negatively geared property is a stress I do not need (plus after starting Steve’s book, it seems to be the right way to go for me). I plan on paying interest only repayments combined with an offset account to also reduce my outgoings.