All Topics / Help Needed! / Noob needs help

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of tinterjjtinterjj
    Participant
    @tinterjj

Hi guys.
    Complete noob here, I would love to get a portfolio of properties in the coming years. Despite having a fair bit of equity in our home I’m not sure the single income will be enough at this stage to commence. Whilst my wife is waiting for our youngest to start school so she can rejoin the workforce my question is what literature does everyone recommend for a beginner? I realise this forum is lead to a certain degree by the guru Steve and I’m happy to get started with his books, just wondering in the face of all the companies out there that run “mentoring” or seminar type learning or any other investment companies, surely what they are asking thousands of bucks for can be learned through less outlay via people who have been down this road before.

Profile photo of Kinnon BellKinnon Bell
    Participant
    @kinnon

I would avoid the seminars as there’s usually a hidden agenda and the information can be very biased.

I find the greatest source of information to be the forums, this and the other one. Plenty of posters asking great questions and experts answering them.

I’d also recommend surrounding yourself by like minded people and those who have ‘been there’. Depending on where you’re located there’s quite often meetups you can attend where it’s just a social gathering for a chat.

Kinnon Bell | Kinetic Funding
    http://www.kineticfunding.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

Mortgage & Personal Loan Broker based in Cairns and Melbourne but servicing clients Australia wide.

Profile photo of CatalystCatalyst
    Participant
    @catalyst

Great advice by Kinnon. A also think surrounding yourself with like minded people is important.
    Networking is the key.