All Topics / Help Needed! / Understanding water fees

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of TMTM
    Participant
    @tmaj

Hi guys. Im new to investing and just trying to work out all the fees that you need to consider when buying property. Im trying to work out whether certain properties are positively or negatively geared. As a first time investor I am looking at regional markets to try and get a property that can increase my income.

Obviously the only income of the property is through the rent and so I am comparing that to the expenses.
    The expenses I am factoring in are the mortgage repayments, property management fees of 6%, rates, loan fees, insurance,water, maintenance and body corporate if it is a unit.
    When comparing houses to units I realise that the house will not have the body corporate fees. The thing that confuses me though is water.
    Looking online I’ve noticed that water can be quite a big expensive when you buy a unit. Are you expected to pay the water bill on all units you buy?
    When you buy a house is this cost not there and gets passed on to the tenants? I remember when I rented as a student we had to pay the water bill.
    I find this whole water situation very confusing so would appreciate any advice.

Also are there any other costs in either situation that I should be factoring in. Its quite daunting trying to invest for the first time and thats why I want to go with a cheaper regional property that is cash flow positive. From there once I have a bit more first hand experience with how much everything costs I hope to build my confidence and make some further investments

Profile photo of DeanCollinsDeanCollins
    Participant
    @deancollins

we pay the water for our two investment properties in Sydney (and I think that there is something in the NSW rental rules that says you cant pass this on to tenants – feel free to correct me if this is wrong).

Profile photo of Jacqui MiddletonJacqui Middleton