All Topics / Help Needed! / investment continuation

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of JSmithJSmith
    Participant
    @jessksmith

Hi there,

Hoping some of you could shed some light on some issues I’m having with my investment plan.
    I’m new to this, but I have recently come into some inheritance and would like to put it to good use and invest in real estate. I’m based in Sydney so that’s where I’ll be looking.

Here’s an example of what I’m looking at doing:
    2 bdr house in Campbelltown
    Price: 430k
    Deposit: 200k
    Interest: $958/month (based on 5.0% p.a)
    Rent: $1600/month
    Expenses: $800/month (based on 50% rule of thumb)
    Cash flow: $-158/month

With every calculation of costing I do, the property ends up being negatively geared, which isn’t a problem in the short term.. But I don’t understand how I would go onto purchase another house. I would only be paying off the interest of the mortgage not the principal and therefore my equity in the property will remain at 200k.

How do you go on to purchase more properties when you don’t have a positive cash flow through your initial investment? To be honest a positive cash flow seems unreachable in Sydney if you have a mortgage!

Would I have to sell the Campbelltown house in say 5 years and use the profit to purchase 2 houses? I’m new to this so ‘flipping’ seems a bit beyond me for my first investment.

Can someone explain investment continuation to me?

Much appreciated!

Profile photo of CatalystCatalyst
    Participant
    @catalyst

Hi, First I would personally never buy a 2 bedroom house unless the land had potential for subdivision. You are restricting your tenant base too much. Try to stretch for a 3 bedroom.

As Sydney is coming to the end of a boom rental yields are low. This will change. Rents (like prices) go in waves. Prices go up, then rents go up.
    So your rental yield is not stagnant.