All Topics / Help Needed! / Subdivision town planner cost

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of NoobugawaNoobugawa
    Participant
    @noobugawa

Hi all

Just a question on subdivision costs. We’ve received quote of about $20k from an architect to do the following:

1. Design of two townhouses.
    2. Documentation to secure a planning permit.
    3. Documentation to secure a building permit.

Does that sound reasonable?

• This topic was modified 9 years ago by Profile photo of Noobugawa Noobugawa.
    Profile photo of PimobpiPimobpi
    Participant
    @pimobpi

Hi Noobugawa,

I have some experience with this. I have posted some forum questions too but no one has answered either of our questions yet. It’s a great site with fantastic members so I am sure that someone, in the know, will answer us within a week or so.
    I am answering your post, with my limited experience, but it may be sufficient.

Short answer is “Yes”, that cost sounds reasonable.
    However, I have more details below that include some extra costs on top of your 1), 2), 3).

My past quotes,
    1). Design of three townhouses &
    2). Documentation & submission of a planning permit application.
    $ 9,000. I write (APPLICATION) as I had no guarantees of approval. The Architect/Drafts-person should have a very good understanding of the council requirements/regulations to make the best application possible & to work with council with amendments if required. I suggest that you call the council and ask for a list of Architects/Draft-persons that they “mainly” deal with. The council cannot & will not give you information regarding which architects they “prefer” to approve & they will not order the list in any way for you. It’s just a list of “mainly” dealt with architects but that’s a good start to get a 2nd quote. Interview a few from that list (that are close to your development property) and pick the one that you feel more comfortable with.