All Topics / General Property / SA Land Tax Review + removal of stamp duty

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of Corey BattCorey Batt
    Participant
    @cjaysa

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/news/south-australia/premier-jay-weatherill-and-treasurer-tom-koutsantonis-to-review-sa-tax-system/story-fni6uo1m-1227215642171

The South Australian government is considering radically changing land tax in SA – this could including the complete abolition of stamp duty in favour of land tax being charged to all properties, estimated at $1200 per annum for a median property.

Only in the consulatation phase at this time, however this could have some major game changers for SA, including the ability to flip properties at minimal costs, near on halving of minimum deposits requirements for lending etc.

What’s everyones thoughts on this? As a broker I see a lot of people’s financial situations – my thought is that this will rapidly open up the ability for people to aim at higher priced properties, or enter the market earlier, which in turn can push along capital values in Adelaide in particular.

Interesting times indeed.

• This topic was modified 9 years, 1 month ago by Profile photo of Corey Batt Corey Batt.

Corey Batt | Precision Funding
    http://www.precisionfunding.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

Investment Focused Finance Strategist - servicing Australia-wide

Profile photo of D.T.D.T.
    Participant
    @dtraeger

Wow this will be interesting.
    I’d rather have an ongoing cost than an upfront one as stamp duty is expensive and restricts buying. This will allow me (and other investors there, not to mention cash-stricken first home buyers) to purchase more often thereby lifting Adelaide metropolitan prices up to match other Australian capitals.

I’m so glad I have a few cashflow positive properties Adelaide to take full advantage of the uplift :)

D.T. | DT Property Management
    http://www.dtproperty.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me