All Topics / Finance / Financing Basics

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of HarvHarv
    Participant
    @harveenk1

Being a foreigner and in anticipation of moving to Australia, can I seek some information on the basics of financing a property purchase for investment in Australia. I recently purchased an apartment and would be most grateful if someone could explain the basics. Please excuse me for asking such basic questions.

1. Interest only – this means for the first 5 years banks allows us to pay interest on the loan based on straight line method of calculation?
    What happens after 5 years? How does the bank get its principal back? What should be the strategy?

2. Valuations
    Is it common for valuations to be lower than the purchase price? For new and secondary market. As a foreigner I had bought a new one where the valuation was lower and was told that this is not unusual.

Thank you.

CharlieX
    Participant
    @charliex

I am no expert in property investment yet, but with my limited knowledge here’s my penny of thoughts.

if you have good credit and has the ability to pay/service your loan, I think the bank would probably like you to be on interest only because it get more money from you. if you are paying interest plus principal, then you are paying down the part that makes them the money (that’s the principal). if your terms is 5 years interest only, that means after 5 years then you have to pay both the interest plus principal to the bank. but most owners will probably refinance within that 5 years back to interest only mortgage, the only lender I know of that do not let you do interest only is Macquarie Bank if you have done this twice already (total of 10 years interest only).