All Topics / Help Needed! / Expert Advice Required

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Profile photo of AselaAsela
    Participant
    @aselar

Hello All,

First of all, I’m a newbie to property investment. I was given some instructions and guidance by a friend and managed to purchase the first investment property through a club even though I’m still a temporary resident. Therefore I’m really grateful for their services and will never regret my first purchase although it’s a second hand apartment.

Recently I have started reading more & more about property investment and have some knowledge but still have few questions such as;
    1. Is it really advantageous to continue paying interest only(the club advice is to pay IO) for the mortgage as I can’t make out how this is possible as the club also recommends not selling out properties but to hold them.
    2. The club has their own selection of properties which mostly consists of apartments in complexes and not sure if this is a good option as I know it is always nice to have house & land packages as investments, any comments..?
    3. Any advice on purchasing serviced apartments as investment properties as some of them seem to have a good rental yield and long tenancy with continuous rental increases.

Please post any comments you have and all your advice will be highly appreciated.

Many thanks in advance,
    AselaR

Profile photo of PHPPHP
    Participant
    @php

Hey Asela,

Welcome to the forums. Have fun learning and sharing info with us.

1.) IO is always advisable for IP loans as this maximizes your tax deductible debt. Holding properties for the long term is also good advice but you need to learn to let go of under performing assets as well.