All Topics / Help Needed! / Bank refused my loan application.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Profile photo of saldsald
    Participant
    @sald

Hi all, I’ve lurked around these columns for a long time but this is my first time posting.
    I wonder if anyone has an insight into how I can get around this current problem of mine. I am in awe of the amount of knowledge and expertise on this site!
    I am from a single income family and earn $95,000 part time. The mortgage is currently $295,00 and I have no other outstanding loans save for a credit card with a $200 limit. I have been told my credit rating is excellent. We have two young kids and hubby is limited to work he can do due to injury. I admit that is a drawback…however, I have just decided to go ahead and branch out into property investing so our financial future looks more secure.
    The problem arose when we went into the bank to borrow $50,000 (to remain in the mortgage) to be drawn down to use for whatever purpose that might crop up. Education, investing costs etc. To my horror, we were declined. We tried a loan of $40,00 and that too was declined. The bank cited reasons of being nervous about my single income. So now we’ve asked them what they’re willing to lend us without us having to bargain it down with them. It is one of the big four banks and I was also shocked to hear the interest was 5.18%. we have been complacent whilst trying to deal with life and it is now time to pick up our game. I admit our complacency is our fault.