All Topics / Help Needed! / INSTANT EQUITY FROM SUBDIVISIONS?

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Profile photo of GrantedGranted
    Participant
    @granted

Hi all I’m new to everything investing.

Is it possible to create equity from Subdivisions?

If so how would you go about it?

Any ideas?

Cheers

Profile photo of GrantedGranted
    Participant
    @granted

Hi Qlds007,

I’m interested to know more.

Do you have any example of a scenario that I could get ideas from?

And what would these relative costs be, I’m interested to learn the process.

Participant
    @granted

Hi Qlds007,

I’m interested to know more.

Do you have any example of a scenario that I could get ideas from?

And what would these relative costs be, I’m interested to learn the process.

Profile photo of Steve McKnightSteve McKnight
    Keymaster
    @stevemcknight

Right… let’s take a closer look at this idea.

Equity can be defined as the difference between a property’s value and the amount of debt carried against it. Alternatively, it can be defined as the difference between current market value and carrying cost.

I think in this case you are asking how can I manufacture an increase in value by splitting one land parcel into two or more sub-parcels (literally sub-dividing). This is certainly possible and should be the goal of every investor pursuing this strategy.

The key here is that the sum of the parts needs to be greater than then whole (plus transaction costs).

Some areas are better than others for this sort of strategy. Typically those areas where smaller land sizes are not seen as a disadvantage deliver good profits, or where larger land holdings are too expensive for the average buyer but where smaller land parcels are more affordable.

Just be careful of transaction costs, time for planning permits (and interest costs while holding), GST and sub-division traps (like setbacks, easements, cross overs, access to utilities, etc).