All Topics / Help Needed! / Where to find info on best places to invest in Western Sydney?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of fionafiona
    Participant
    @fionam9

Hi all,

I am hoping to buy an investment property in Western Sydney, prob a unit for under $300K.  Problem is, I’m new to this, and I’ve never lived in that area so don’t know where are the good/ ‘bad’ suburbs and parts of suburbs.

Where is the best place to go to get this kind of information?

Also, does anyone have opinions on which ‘property guide’ to buy- that tells me which suburbs have had what growth etc?

Any advice greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

Hi Fiona

Welcome aboard :-)

Personally, I think the West Syd boat has sailed – some of the properties going for $300k were being sold for $100k less only a short time ago. For that reason, I think there are better opportunities in other markets.

In terms of gathering data – I’ve got a fair few property data website links here if it helps – http://passgo.com.au/property-data-websites.html

Cheers

Jamie

Jamie Moore | Pass Go Home Loans Pty Ltd
    http://www.passgo.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

Mortgage Broker assisting clients Australia wide Email: [email protected]

Profile photo of fionafiona
    Participant
    @fionam9

Thanks for the welcome Jamie!

Yes, I’ve been watching prices go up and up in Western Sydney these past couple of years.  Problem is, I only have $300,000 to spend.  So I’m still trying to guess what would do better in terms of capital gain over a 20-ish year period: a 300K house in a regional area like Newcastle, or a unit around Liverpool way.  Anyone got a crystal ball??  Or even any advice??   :) 

Cheers

Fiona

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

No worries :-)

I won’t tell you where to spend your money but $300k provides plenty of scope!

Cheers

Jamie