All Topics / Help Needed! / How to transition from a regular job to investing

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Profile photo of SchplakSchplak
    Participant
    @schplak

Hi guys,

I'm new to property investing and was wondering how you would go about transitioning from a regular job to becoming a full-time property investor? Because it seems to me that you need to have a regular good income (at least 6-12 months in same job) with payslips etc to be able to get finance, however you also need to have the time to review properties and conduct due diligence etc.

I understand that money follows management and that you would likely be able to get some form of finance, be it private or public, if you look hard enough, however from my research those loans generally have much higher interest rates, which would reduce any income the property generates.

Any info would be greatly appreciated

Regards,

Peter

Profile photo of Corey BattCorey Batt
    Participant
    @cjaysa

Generally most investors stay employed for a number of years to enable continued purchasing. This may open up other avenues such as development, renovating etc which can increase yields and capital gains. Of the number of property investors, I know of very very few who are effectively unemployed and investing, they either have invested for a decade +, or have established property based businesses which were built on a large cash base and extensive experience in the roles undertaken.

Corey Batt | Precision Funding
    http://www.precisionfunding.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

Investment Focused Finance Strategist - servicing Australia-wide

Profile photo of CatalystCatalyst
    Participant
    @catalyst

You work hard (at your day job) then you go home and work hard on your investing.

Nights, weekends, whatever it takes. When you are further along the line you may be able to go part-time or leave your day job but in the meantime be prepared to put some overtime in.