All Topics / Help Needed! / Sanctuary Point NSW

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Profile photo of Alex MAlex M
    Participant
    @alex-m

I'm only new to this investing malarky and I don't claim to know much of anything. I'm not a real estate agent, just wanted to give my thoughts on Sanctuary Point NSW.

I've been going down there for about 8 years and researching real estate in this area for about 2 years, I have family who retired down there.

I know a little about the area, if anyone has any questions about what streets are like or particular houses let me know.

It had price rises around 2005-2007. Prices, dipped and flattened. Then they went up a little mid-late last year. A report in a property investing magazine named Sanctuary Point as a top suburb for rental yield.

I've noticed that towards the end of 2013 all of the cheaper 3 bedroom houses have sold. There are no listings under $200k (as far as I know the $193k 3 bedder is gone).

This 2 story would be my pick of the bunch around that price: http://www.realestate.com.au/property-house-nsw-sanctuary+point-111160839 I rang the agent last week out of curiosity and it was still available. He said it's had a reno, been painted obviously and new kitchen, it would rent for $260-$270 (6.17%)-6.41%). It was $230k not long ago and will probably sell for less than $210k.

I like the look of this big brick one too, just went down from $289k, not very shiny but that's a lot of house:

http://www.realestate.com.au/property-house-nsw-sanctuary+point-114314659

There is not much left in the sub-$250 range, and buyers have moved into the sub $300k and there are plenty disappearing above that too.

Locals reckon this happens as people put out 'For Sale' signs during the holidays, hoping for a bite at a good price from the tourists who (hopefully) fall in love with the area. But the activity has continued early this year.