All Topics / Help Needed! / Young Investor – Looking to start my portfolio

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of thisisthewarningthisisthewarning
    @thisisthewarning

Hi all,

I'm a young professional, who has managed to start saving a good amount of money and am looking to get into the investment game (stocks and property).

I have recently been reading as much content as possible and found that this forum is particularly helpful. However, I think I've gotten a bit of an overload, and I'm not sure how, or where to start my journey.

A little about myself:

I'm 23 and my partner is 20, together we have a combined pre-tax income of $115,000 ($80,000 and $35,000). We are currently renting for $300 per week and managing to save between $600-$700 per week. We have no intentions of having children (long-term).

Our financial goals are fairly simple and frank, to grow a large portfolio of income earning assets, and effectively earn as much as possible (all within a reasonable level of risk).

Is anyone able to point me in the right direction of a potential mentor, some great reading material, or anything that may help us define and understand the strategies behind building a portfolio?

Thanks,

Jesse

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

Hi Jesse

Welcome aboard :-)

As a start, continue to read up and educate yourself about property investing. There's plenty of free/cheap resources out there – including forums like this. 

There's lots of books too. Here's a sticky thread on recommended reading – https://www.propertyinvesting.com/forums/community/heads-up/6845

A good finance person and accountant are important to get on board too.

Cheers

Jamie

Jamie Moore | Pass Go Home Loans Pty Ltd
    http://www.passgo.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

Mortgage Broker assisting clients Australia wide Email: [email protected]

Profile photo of thisisthewarningthisisthewarning
    @thisisthewarning

Hi Jamie,