All Topics / Help Needed! / Investment versus home for a high income earner

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of elizabeth1elizabeth1
    @elizabeth1

Hi everyone,

I am very new to the world of property, and I come from a very low income household where my parents are unable to provide investment advice (as they’ve never owned property or any other type of investment).

I have been very lucky to work my way up in the corporate world quite quickly – I am 29 and my income is just over $200k. Given this, I’m paying a lot of tax. In January 2013 I purchased my first property – the apartment that I now live in. It is in an inner city location with high rental potential. Since this purchase, I have been able to accumulate $80k in an offset account. I’ve been trying to put as much in this account as possible, to lower the interest on my loan.

My question is, given my situation (high tax), would this money be better invested in another negatively geared property? I’m sure there are a number of variables that I haven’t taken into account, but I’m interested to know what others would do in my situation.

Thank you in advance for any advice.

Liz

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

Hi Liz

Welcome aboard :-)

I wouldn't invest in a property primary to reduce your taxable income – it's a flawed concept. It means you need to spend $1 to get back 40 cents.

Instead, I'd only treat any tax concessions associated with property investment as a bonus – and focus more so on purchasing the right property that fits in with your longer term financial plans.

Are you thinking about renting out your current apartment and purchasing another property to live in? If so – the loans need to be structured correctly to avoid cross collaterisation (something the banks love to do) and also maximise tax effectiveness.

Cheers

Jamie

Jamie Moore | Pass Go Home Loans Pty Ltd