All Topics / Legal & Accounting / Bookkeeping of Settlement/Purchasing Expenses

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of jatejate
    Participant
    @jate

Hi all,

Just recently settled an investment property and was getting around to doing the book keeping of all the associated costs with purchasing a property.

I've noticed a bunch of items which I've paid for whether it be through my mortgage loan or lawyers/conveyancer which I have little knowledge over and wasn't sure:

a) how should these items be classified and in what category of expenses does it fall under?

b) are these tax deductible and I should be providing these to my accountant at EOFY?

Common items seen:

• Property / Title Searches
    • Settlement Costs
    • Stamp Duty
    • Registration of Mortgage
    • Registration of Land
    • Discharge of Mortgage
    • Clearance Certificate
    • Loan Approval Letter
    • Government Search Fees
    • Pest & Building Inspection

Any input from an accountant or experienced investors welcome.

Thanks in advanced.

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

Hi Jate

Provide your accountant with everything – including the loan offer document for your IP which outlines all of the fees/charges and your rental statements from your PM. A good accountant will capture everything – but it also helps to be organised.

Cheers

Jamie

Jamie Moore | Pass Go Home Loans Pty Ltd
    http://www.passgo.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

Mortgage Broker assisting clients Australia wide Email: [email protected]

Profile photo of jatejate
    Participant
    @jate

Hi Jamie,