All Topics / Help Needed! / Body Corp Fees

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of LindaTLindaT
    @lindat

Hi there,

I am a newbie, looking at purchasing a townhouse in Brissie.

Cost $320k- $350k.

Rent is currently $375 but I have seen equivalent rents advertised $400-$450 (but these are lying empty!).

The body corp fees are around $900/quarter. Does anyone have advise on BC, these seem a bit high to me, is it worth the expense?

Are townhouses good investments?

cheers

Linda

Profile photo of CatalystCatalyst
    Participant
    @catalyst

Queensland does seem to have higher BC fees. Also those with pools and lifts are higher as maintenance is higher.

$900pq is a big chunk out of the rent. Not my idea of good value.

Townhouses can be a good investment, depending on what your strategy and goals are. But high BC fees eat into your yield so take that into account.

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

Hi Linda

How many townhouses are in the complex?

Those BC fees are high – but not uncommon in that part of the world as Catalyst mentioned.

Cheers

Jamie

Jamie Moore | Pass Go Home Loans Pty Ltd
    http://www.passgo.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

Mortgage Broker assisting clients Australia wide Email: [email protected]

Profile photo of Matt_ArnoldMatt_Arnold
    Participant
    @matt_arnold

Hi Linda

When it comes to townhouses / units that are strata titled, you need to keep in mind that the levies you pay per quarter go towards the general maintenance and upkeep of your property.

Eg. If the gutters start leaking on a strata tiled townhouse, the body corporate pays to have the repairs completed.  Conversely, if the gutters started leaking on a free standing torrens title house, then you as the owner would be putting your hand in your pocket to pay for the repairs.