All Topics / Help Needed! / Please help a novice!!

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of TracymburlingTracymburling
    @tracymburling

Hello all,

i am new to this site and am struck by the level of expertise and cooperation the site offers.

i have recently read Steve McNight's book and am rapidly forming the view that property investment is the way forward for my family and I.

in short, we own our home outright ( valued at approx $700k). We have approx $250k cash in savings accounts  and $80k in various shares. I understand the devil is in the detail of obtaining the correct property. I'm wondering though, with that said, to get started ( we don't own any investment property at this time) how much should we be looking to spend on our first property acquisition?

A sincere thank you in advance for any advice that can be offered. I don't have a background in finance. I am a nurse who, along with my husband, have saved hard.

Profile photo of Matt_ArnoldMatt_Arnold
    Participant
    @matt_arnold

Hi Tracy

Well done on achieving such a strong financial situation through savings.

My personal preference for property is the classic ‘3 bedroom, brick and tile’ property that is generally pitched at the first home buyer market.

Where I am based on the Central Coast, these are generally priced around the low to mid 300’s.

My reason for this type if property is that they generally rent quickly, the returns are quite good and should / when i choose to sell, this type of property will always be in demand. I also find the value is much more stable than in some of the high end properties…

I’m sure you will get a whole bunch of different responses to your question.