All Topics / Help Needed! / I’m a bit confused

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of KSJAKSJA
    @ksja

Hi all, I am a newbie and I am struggling to understand the concept of living off rental income by making interest-only payments.

Say I own 2 IPs and I have to pay $1,400 mortgage per month for each IP and my rental income is also $1,400 per month for each IP. I understand if the values of the IPs go up, I can use the equity growth to put in deposit for another property, but still I have to continue to pay $1,400 per month assuming the interest rate stays the same and also assuming I continue to charge the tenant $1,400 per month rent.

1) Am I right to say the amount of interest-only repayment are calculated based on the amount I owe the bank, so any equity growth will be irrelevant to repayment amount?

2) In order to live off rental income, does it means that I have to wait till either the interest goes down or wait till I rise the rent?

3) I thought interest-only mortgage comes with a 5 years term, is this when I start paying the principle on the 6th year then I will be able to start "living off" rental income because my interest repayment will go down as a result of reduced amount owing to the bank?

Thanks for your patient and your reply will be very much appreciated,

KSJA

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi KSJA

Firstly welcome to the forum and i hope you enjoy your time with us.

Fear not no question is a silly question and this is what the forum is all about learning from others.

Anyway here goes:

1) Am I right to say the amount of interest-only repayment are calculated based on the amount I owe the bank, so any equity growth will be irrelevant to repayment amount?

Yes that is exactly right. Your repayments will only increase on the basis you increase your borrowing. Leave it as it is and your repayments will be constant (subject to interest rates)