All Topics / Help Needed! / How to know if the rental market in a area?

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of shelbyduckshelbyduck
    Participant
    @shelbyduck

Hi,

I am new to this forum.   Hopefully, I can get some advice.  

It all started from refinancing my husband's mortgage for a lower rate.  It turns out that it is not worth for him, or both of us to refinance the home( because of the mortgage insurance, and other debt he has,  no need to mention that the value of the house hasn't risen that much)  So We, at the moment just me, decide that maybe it is better to have an investment property.  So we are not just sitting on one property with bigger loan, but 2 properties,  and We have to do it before having any independent.(expensive kids)  I work as a casual staff with annual around 25-30K , his companies brought him about 50 K last year.

Our budget would be around 230K maybe able to stretch to 300K,  

My questions are:

Is mortgage insurance worth having?  I am thinking  that maybe try to avoid it and get a cheaper property ( like 1b apartment/unit instead of 2b or 3b apartment/house)

How do I know the area I want to buy has good rental market or not?  what is the good indication?  

we will need the investment property rented out straight away, if it is not already tenanted.  

When I tried to get the value of our house, 3 agents presented me the same property report.  I am wondering if these report is available to general public?

Profile photo of ChristineNurseChristineNurse
    Participant
    @christinenurse

Hi,

Go to Aust Bureau of Statistics and look at the following;

Building approvals – indicating if there are any activity in a suburb

Income & Household exp – can give you an idea of how much they can pay for rent,