All Topics / Help Needed! / No deposit, no hope??

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Profile photo of Chickenhawk6451Chickenhawk6451
    Participant
    @chickenhawk6451

Hi all!

New Year is a time people make resolutions, for things to change, I'm no different. My resolution this year is to buy my first true investment property, not too far out of the park one would think!! :-)

A little about myself; I'm a 25yr old graduate Structural Engineer based in Perth and last August I bought my unit, a 2×1 7th floor apartment 5km from the CBD. My unit was originally bought as my first investment property, it ticks all the boxes that I wanted in one and when I move out, the rent will cover interest only payments. My current situation is mortgage of $313k, C/C debt of $2000 ("Interest free" but i'm working on it, had to buy a bedroom set!!), HECS debt $38k, income of $72k. My take-home pay is ~$1850 per fortnight and the mortgage is $1735/month, fixed for 3 years. Current savings are $2500. My partner is living with me but for various reasons her using income for finance is not an option although she is paying 1/2 the bills, her income is basically the same as mine but she has various other debts (~$90k total).

I've been researching for quite a while, I read tonnes of books before purchasing my unit with an eye as using it as an investment property later on. As such, it's 500m from a train station, good physical condition, city views. Basically a good investment (I hope)