All Topics / Help Needed! / Investing in Townsville

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of MonfriesMonfries
    @monfries

Hi,

I am new to this and looking for some advice, we currently live and own in West End, Townsville, we think it is great due to Castle Town just being down the road and the $13 cab fare to the strand. However, as I read before there are some undesirables which live here, housing trust and a rehab center on Stagpole Street, which do not bother us at all. We do however live in a dead end street. Echlin Street has had some issues with breakins etc I know but the area has so much going for it.

Looking over time and history in my view, the government and local council will slowly move these people further away from the city centre. North Ward the so called rich and shameless of Townsville has no room to expand any more so West End will be the next place they will look. It has some beautiful old renovated Queenslanders going for 600k, there are definately parts I would not suggest but I think the potential is there, just how long this will take I am not certain.

Oh and most of the block sizes are 1/4 Acre blocks making it very attractive for the developer or just people who want a big back yard.

Does anyone have any views on this?

Cheers,

Simon

Profile photo of stimesfivestimesfive
    @stimesfive

My advice would be to do your research.  Check out median house prices, rental prices, vacancy rates, etc.  Your own back yard is not necessarily the best place to invest.  As a project pick another couple of suburbs and even another couple of towns with houses in the price bracket you can afford.  Compare them all thoroughly.  Have fun!

Profile photo of Rick staRick sta
    Participant
    @rick-sta

I'm not sure exactly what you're asking.

You say you live in West End, it's a nice area and has a history of solid growth, so just relax.

As for investing, I think the above advice is very sound.