All Topics / Help Needed! / What’s the next step towards financial security?

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of acurabotacurabot
    Participant
    @acurabot

Hi guys,

Like many, I wanted to achieve financial security and have committed to property as my vehicle for getting there. I am new to the game many of you's have succeeded in and would like your advice in what my next step should be to getting financially free quicker.

About myself. I'm 22, an electrical engineer by qualification on $67k pa. I purchased my first property in June this year and renting it out as a student accomodation. The reason I chose a rental property over a development property was for tax claimable purposes. The property details are as follows:

Price: $411,500

Loan: $385,000

Beds,Baths,Car: 7,2,1

Renovation Budget: $30,000 (kitchen, bathroom, flooring, paint)

Expected Valuation: $500,000

Rental Yield (5 max tenants) before reno: 8.75% ($720pw, 50weeks income)

Rental Yield (5 max tenants) after reno: 7.20% ($720pw, 50weeks income)

Usable Equity (80% loan) = $92,000 (not including reno costs, settling costs etc)

After my renovation is complete and I have usable equity, what should be my next step? Should it be to purchase a quick cash property (eg. splitters) or would I be better off buying an undervalued property, adding value and repeating the same process? Unless I can sell the property for more than what it's going to cost me to sell and settle on another property with better return, selling is out of my mind at the moment. I also wish to maintain one rental property for parking my savings, claiming tax purposes i.e. travel etc.

And is there a way I can legally have more than 5 unrelated persons in a house under Brisbane City Council rules? Eg. Could I have 4 unrelated individuals and one family?