All Topics / Help Needed! / Any thoughts about investing in Chinchilla or Miles?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of MandyPMandyP
    @mandyp

Hi,

I am new to the blog and also the investment game, and am wondering if anyone had any thoughts on investing in Chinchilla and Miles……I have done a heap of research and spoken to some developers but am getting conflicting advice to what is going on in the area….Please help!

Profile photo of FreckleFreckle
    Blocked
    @freckle

Wouldn't touch them with a barge pole. They're flooded with houses for sale (453). It's your typical boom bust scenario. House construction is over shooting demand. Vacancy rates aren't bad yet but my bet is that will change to the downside over the next 18 months or so. All those properties for sale are in the main rentals. With vacancies in the 70's that can only get worse.

Not worth the effort – way to much risk.

Profile photo of Jacqui MiddletonJacqui Middleton
    Participant
    @jacm

Don't do drugs.  Don't do mining.

Jacqui Middleton | Middleton Buyers Advocates
    http://www.middletonbuyersadvocates.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

VIC Buyers' Agents for investors, home buyers & SMSFs.

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi Mandy

Firstly welcome to the forum and i hope you enjoy time with us.

Like the old saying in Invercargill the last one to leave please turn the lights off…. No seriously investing in Miles wouldn't be as bad as that but i question why you would invest in an areas after the boom has been thru.

As a new investor start small engage the assistance of someone to work with you on your property investing journey and spread your risk.

Investing is all about risk minimisation and not maximisation.

For what you would pay in Miles or Chinchilla you could buy 2 lower risk properties with sound growth and rent drivers and sleep at night.