All Topics / Help Needed! / Equity to buy investment property?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of brmiaubrmiau
    Participant
    @brmiau

Hi all,

I'm after some info on using equity to buy an investment property. Here's the figures…

We owe $253,000 on our mortgage. Our house is worth $420,000. I know that means we have $170,000 worth of equity. How does that help us buy an investment property?

If we are looking at a property worth $350,000, does that mean we can use some of the $170,000 as a deposit? So if we used $70,000 of the equity in our home our loan for the investment would be $290,000? The rent return a week would be $300 and the interest would be $430 a week. We pay $130 a week plus all other expenses. How much would we get back in tax at the end of the year?

Basically can someone put it all in basic terms for me with those figures. I'm new at this and want to learn

Thanks, Brad

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

Hi Brad

There's usable equity and actual equity.

Your actual equity is $167k – which is simply the value of your property minus the loan amount.

The useable equity is what the bank will let you access.

Most banks will allow you to take your loan up to 80% of the properties value.

In this instance, you'd be able to access $83k which would be used to cover the deposit/costs on your purchase.

Some banks will allow you access equity up to 90% of the properties value – which means you can access more but some LMI would payable. 

Make sure you set up the equity loan as a separate loan account and keep both your PPOR and IP loans uncrossed (banks love to cross collaterise – and many clueless brokers do too).

Hope that helps.

Jamie

Jamie Moore | Pass Go Home Loans Pty Ltd
    http://www.passgo.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

Mortgage Broker assisting clients Australia wide Email: [email protected]

Profile photo of Josh AthertonJosh Atherton
    @josh-atherton

Hi Brad,