All Topics / Overseas Deals / Bying property overseas

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of FerdinandFerdinand
    @ferdinand

Is it possible to borrow from Australia and buy a property overseas? If so what is involved? I am an Australian citizen but live at the moment in the Ukraine were I would like to buy apartments. Any help would be appreciated as I am new at all this. Thank you, Ferdinand

Profile photo of Nigel KibelNigel Kibel
    Participant
    @nigel-kibel

No because a bank cannot take security over an overseas property

If you owned a property in Australia you may be able to get a line of credit and use that as a deposit but the loan itself can only come from tthe country of origin

Nigel Kibel | Property Know How
    http://propertyknowhow.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

We have just launched a new website join our membership today

Profile photo of FerdinandFerdinand
    @ferdinand

Ok, thanks for your comment. Is there any other way to obtain money from Australia? In the Ukraine the interest rate is almost 20% and it would be cheaper to get a loan from Australia. I could buy 5 apartments with 10% deposit and the rental income would sufficiently cover the repayment – in other words they are cash-flow positive.

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

The right property in Australia is also cash flow positive.

If you have no security in Australia you will not be able to find an Australian lender take a property in Ukraine as security.

Whilst a lender can take security overseas and in fact a couple of lenders i now will do Ukraine is not one of those countries.

Cheers

Yours in Finance

Richard Taylor | Australia's leading private lender

Profile photo of Ziv Nakajima-MagenZiv Nakajima-Magen
    Participant
    @zmagen