All Topics / Help Needed! / help! want to become a property but don’t know where to start?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of alterego44alterego44
    Participant
    @alterego44

Hey guys thanks for reading!

I’m 22 and am very lucky to have inherited a house with no debt attached. Although the house is half mine and half my brother’s and we are both keen on investing together…. Taking a loan against the house etc..

I’m also a qualified carpenter which makes me think I should use this to my advantage in terms of renovating or developing ?

So far we have discussed several different options but still Have no idea which is the safest and best way of going about it.

Any advice you guys have would be greatly appreciated.

Things you should know..

– House value $350,000 no debt attached
    – no children
    – I’m a qualified carpenter ( perhaps build own development??)
    – we live together (in the inherited house)but would like go separate ways in the next few years but continue investing together.

Thanks for your help!

Profile photo of TheFinanceShopTheFinanceShop
    Participant
    @thefinanceshop

Renovating is a great idea for obvious reasons and it will help create CG and further equity but what is the long term plan? Are you looking to convert the property into an investment?

Are you looking to draw upon the equity against the property to fund for further purchases?

TheFinanceShop | Elite Property Finance
    http://www.elitepropertyfinance.com
    Email Me | Phone Me

Residential and Commercial Brokerage

Profile photo of Corey BattCorey Batt
    Participant
    @cjaysa

Sounds like you're in a great position early on.

Looking at your situation:

• Access to significant amount of equity
    • Don't have current mortgage/rent repayments
    • Qualifications related to renovating