All Topics / Help Needed! / Effects of Bypass on Property Value

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Profile photo of npomfret86npomfret86
    Participant
    @npomfret86

Hi All,

I am new to the property market and am currently looking at building a house to take advantage of the first home builder grant. I have been looking at areas on the south coast of NSW and the Illawarra, as I need to live in the property. The idea is that we will live in the property for at least the required 6 months and then look to sell the property and aim to turn a profit on it. I have been looking at land in a new subdevelopment in Berry NSW and it seems as though this may be an option. The property is currently close to the highway (approx 300m). The highway is currently slow (50km/h) but there are plans for a bypass which will speed it up to 80-100 km/hour. I am aware there will potentially be noise and visual impacts although visual is considered minimal as the property will face away from the highway.

I am interested in peoples thoughts on what effect the highway might have on the property prices in the area. It is a small town which relies on tourism for its support however is only a 15min drive from Nowra a regional centre (maybe shorter after the bypass). The property will be across the highway from berry but is still quite accessible with an overpass which has pedestrian and cycle access on both sides. The access to the highway is obviously close improving the transportation for people who work up the coast.

Here is some bypass info:

http://www.rta.nsw.gov.au/roadprojects/projects/princes_hway/foxground_berry_bypass/

An opinion piece about the highway splitting the town: 

http://smh.drive.com.au/roads-and-traffic/berry-bypass-divides-a-town–in-every-sense-of-the-word-20130111-2clb9.html

If anyone has any advice, previous experience around bypasses, suggestions for further research I would love to hear it.