All Topics / Help Needed! / Due Diligence for New Investors

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of JerryJerry
    Participant
    @jerry_o

Hi All,

Im new to everything related to property investing and I'm currently gathering all the free information I can get to equip myself with the needed knowledge to take my first leap to investing.

Here's what I have learnt so far. May I please request that you add any relevant information that you know to help other newbie investors like me.

RESEARCH

First I need to study the population of a state. Population growth over a period of time, migration, immigration, demographics.

By doing this, I have a rough idea of what state to look into just base on the population of an area. The more dense the population, the more likely the demand for dwellings. (house, unit, etc)

Once I picked the state, i would concentrate my research to the top 5 most popular suburb of that state. To locate the suburb where people are going is a good indication of future growth.

I would then narrow it down to 3 suburbs and then do the property research. Determine which properties are more popular for the demographics of the area. Then a further due diligence for each property inspected.

This is how I would do my research for my first property investment. The sources will be the ABS website, residex, rp data, realestate.com and domain, local real estate agents.

Please feel free to add or correct any information that is wrong.

Thanks in advance!

Jerry | Mortgage Station
    http://mortgagestation.com.au/
    Email Me | Phone Me

Finance Strategist - Active Investor - Serving clients Australia-wide - Based in Sydney / Melbourne

Profile photo of TheFinanceShopTheFinanceShop
    Participant
    @thefinanceshop