All Topics / Help Needed! / Investment property options

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Profile photo of Matt7171Matt7171
    @matt7171

Hello everybody, 

My name is Matt and I am very new to this site/investing. 

Background

– I live in Melbourne.

– I am in my last year of University, and will be working full-time next year.

– When I was a 1 year old I was given a piece of land down in Metung, Victoria, which is now valued between $130,000-$140,000. 3 years ago, a road scheme was implemented into the area placing a huge debt on my land. Since I am a student I cannot afford to pay the roads scheme at the moment, which has now risen to $65,500 (10% simple interest annually). Due to my land being positioned on a corner, I have been exposed to a double frontage circumstance. If My land had 1 frontage, then the roads scheme debt would basically be halved. There is also rates and water bills that I have to pay totaling $1500 annually. 

My questions are:

– Should I sell the land in Metung in order to purchase an apartment or house in Melbourne as soon as possible? 

– Would it be best to invest in an apartment or house? Also, in the same state or outside?

– Should I be receiving such high debt figures on my land? Can I argue the case of the double frontage to narrow down my debt, due to my brother and sister only having to pay half of my debt figure because they have one frontage.

Thank you in advance! Any advice would be much appreciated.

Profile photo of I Buy Houses FastI Buy Houses Fast
    @i-buy-houses-fast