All Topics / Help Needed! / How to invest with investors?

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of acurabotacurabot
    Participant
    @acurabot

Hi guys,

I'm trying to figure out how this all works. I am looking at a subdivision site (10+ sites) ~30kms from Brisbane CBD. My questions are, how would I go about structuring the JV and organising the contract?

For instance, I've been taught to tie down the property with a contract before finding the investors. I'm quite new to property investing myself (just recently purchased first property [+ve]) but have been reading and training for 8months now and am not sure how the contract would work. If the contract is under my name, how would my money investor finance money to invest with me? Do and can I transfer or add them into the contract at a later date? And is it advisable? Can it be done legally without terminating the initial contract?

Secondly, how would I structure our JV to protect myself if things go haywire? I don't want to be financially responsible for losses nor do I want to take on the risk involved with this. Is it possible?

And thirdly, aside from the usual subject to finance, due diligence, soil test, DA approval, what other conditions should I consider? And what is the duration for all these conditions which you'd recommend, especially the subject to DA approval clause? Should I do a one year settlement and if so, should I buy the property at a higher price to what I would offer if I bought it today?

Any thoughts and help on shedding light on this would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Donnie

Profile photo of ModonnellModonnell
    Participant
    @modonnell