All Topics / Finance / Can I do this?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of WayWay
    Participant
    @way

Hello,

I have a question that I would like to ask:

Is it possible to purchase a house and land via a loan, subdivide the land and then sell the half without the house (i.e. the backyard).

If I had an offset account put the money I got for the sold half into there or if I didn't have an offset account to use the money to reduce

the outstanding loan and keep paying off the rest of the loan as normal?

Sorry for my very simplistic question, I am still a beginner and trying to educate myself about what strategy is best for me.

My end goal is that I want to own several houses and be able to live of the rental received from them, I am not to concerned so much with

the value of the house rising ( I would see this as a bonus) as I don't plan on selling the houses I keep for rent, I just want to pay off the houses

as fast as I can and reduce my debt.

Thank you in advance for your replies.

Wayland

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

Technically it's possible (if the land could be sub divided).

You won't be able to sub divide a block that is part of a house and land package though. Those parcels of land have already been divided up.

Cheers

Jamie

Jamie Moore | Pass Go Home Loans Pty Ltd
    http://www.passgo.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

Mortgage Broker assisting clients Australia wide Email: [email protected]

Profile photo of WayWay
    Participant
    @way

Hello Jamie,

Thanks for the quick reply.  Sorry I didn't mean in a house and land package, I just meant a block of land with a house on it.

So, technically I could do this if the land was able to be subdivided?  How would it work out with the loan?  Would it change anything in terms of LVI?

Are there any big cons with this idea?