All Topics / Finance / Positive geared = servicablility?

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of Matt39Matt39
    @matt39

I have borrowed money once for a block of land but am about to sell and purchase a house and land package, so I am new to borrowing but have a little experience. The house and land package I intend to buy will be positively geared, probably by $200 or more. Hence the rent is covering the mortgage and then some would this increase my borrowing power (taking away what I have already borrowed of course) ? I understand different lenders differ with criteria but surely this would be looked upon as a positive for myself to borrow more money?

Interested because I dont want to max out my borrowing power too quickly, this project will cost around the $350k mark and im approved for over $600k. Hopefully I can move onto other projects considering I have more borrowing power left.

I understand this is a broad question, just looking for any tips. Just trying to be thorough :)

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

Most lenders will take somewhere between 75% to 80% of the gross rent for servicing. Therefore, the higher the rent, the better your servicing. The only caveat being certain postcodes/areas where lenders have placed restrictions on the percentage of rent they'll consider.

Jamie

Jamie Moore | Pass Go Home Loans Pty Ltd
    http://www.passgo.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

Mortgage Broker assisting clients Australia wide Email: [email protected]

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Matt a $200 positive gearing i assume that is per month.

Are you sure it is not a Display home with a leaseback arrangement or similar and if not you must be putting in a decent sized deposit.

Are you sure you want to put that much in ?