All Topics / General Property / Advice needed on Subdivision!!!

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of butterccbuttercc
    Participant
    @buttercc

I am a newbie to this forum and desperately seeking some help around my current situation.

To keep it concise:

IP locates in the Eastern Suburb of Melbourne and sits on a 750sqm regular block. Existing 3br brick veneer house with rental about 350pw.I am planning to subdivide the IP , sell the current home and move to the subdivided TH as well as renting out the other one. I am struggling to make decisions between:

1. Renovate the current house and build a double-storey TH at the back (20-25sq).  The reason I have to renovate is that I would like to move into this one while the construction of the TH at the backyard undergoing.  After it is build, move to the new one and rent the renovated one out.

2. Demolish the current house and build two double-storey THs(20-25sq each in my mind) .  Moving into one of the new TH and rent the other out.

Concerns with option 1:

• Given the current house needs to do a major renovation (Kitchen, bath, floors etc) , I m not optimistic about the cost associated with this , anyone could shed some light on this?

• The other issue with this option is that I will lose the current car shed at the backyard and potentially needs to build a carport for the front house together with the new construction.

• High maintenance for a quite old house. I have been contacted to repair the old pipes and deal with all sorts of issues with the aging houses.

• It might be a cheaper option in terms of budget wise for now, looking into longer term, It does not have much depreciation value given it s a 50 years+ house and by the time I want to sell later (not in  short time) ,comparing the second option, which one would attract more interest?

Concerns with option 2: