All Topics / Help Needed! / RESEARCH, DUE DILIGENCE & METHODS – ADVICE PLS

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of dangermouse99dangermouse99
    Participant
    @dangermouse99

Hello All and thanks in advance for your advice.

Im looking at doing a development in Vic or QLD in a town im unfamilar with, so what steps and processes do you follow to do your research & due diligence on that town you don’t have much knowledge on. Which website, data sources, figures and stats and people to you use so I can make sure im investing with confidence.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Dean 

Profile photo of landt64landt64
    Participant
    @landt64

Hi Dean,

I'm no expert but certainly happy to share what I do. So far I've only bought 3 investment properties but I've seen pretty good growth from all 3 so far. I don't buy in a town with less than 10,000 people. I use the APM data found at the back of the Australian Property Investor mag to see what the 10 year growth % per annum is and look to see if the town I'm interested in has somewhere above 8%. Any less than this and I don't think I'm going to see capital growth. I've just signed up for Real Estate Investar which costs around $250 per month, and while it's not bad I don't think it offers a lot more than other websites like, homesales.com. or realestateview.com, so i don't think I'll continue with this subscription. I'm sure you'll get lots of good advice from other people on this site. Good luck.

Landt

Profile photo of christianbchristianb
    Participant
    @christianb

Dean,

In essence you have two major issues (each of many parts) to contend with:

1. The investment strategy – the financial goals
    2. The development strategy to achieve those goals.

You need to do work on both of these parts and ensure they come together with the right structure.