All Topics / Help Needed! / Terrible PM?

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 21 total)
  • Profile photo of DennisLeungDennisLeung
    Participant
    @dennisleung

Hey all,

Long post ahead.

Our family has had an investment property in our name for about 3 years now. The value of the property has fluctuated between 450-480k over that time and it has been rented out to tenants for $480/weekly through an REA. I've recently become interested in property investment and just started to look into the financial side of the property and have discovered that it has been tenanted for 480 per week for the last 3 years! I thought the number was a bit low so I rang around other REAs in the area and everyone said at least 520 up to 580 per week.

Stupidly (this is my first time doing things) I went straight to another agent and requested them to transfer management from the existing REA to their company and have already given them the 30 days notice.

I then realised that the rent would still be stuck at 480 for at least another few months, so wanting speed up the process I phoned and emailed the current REA requesting a rent increase for up to 560 per week thinking that they would comply, give the notice right away, the tenant would probably move out after 3 weeks with an 80 dollar per week increase and my relationship with the current REA would be terminated after 3 weeks instead of 4.

The reply from the current REA, argued with me saying that the market rate was only 520 because there was another 2 bedroom place (ours is a 3 bedroom place) in the same building advertised for that amount. I then asked him why he had mismanaged our place by having it for only 480, and he couldn't give me an answer. On the phone he expressed concern that the tenants would have to move out if I increased the rent to 560. In my mind I was thinking he's probably in cahoots or done some kind of deal with the tenants.