All Topics / Creative Investing / Architect as developer

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of hugoismydoghugoismydog
    Participant
    @hugoismydog

Hi all,

Anyone has got any experience or heard any architects acting as developer so literally. Own client & architect at the same time.

How does it work?

Thanks for the advice

Profile photo of RPIRPI
    Participant
    @rpi

Yep. I have a couple of architects who work that way.

I also always bill my own entity when I develop, I do not believe in giving away time. If your time/ professional fees are included it ensures your figures still add up.

RPI | Certus Legal Group / PRO Town Planners
    http://www.certuslegal.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

Property Lawyer & Town Planner

Profile photo of hugoismydoghugoismydog
    Participant
    @hugoismydog

Thanks. So are you saying you charge yourself a professional fee for the services?

I am an architect who is interested to buy a property & redevelop it to more units to sell off. I am just not sure of the process & whether it will get complicated down the line with finance etc.

Any advice or experience would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Profile photo of GiovanniGiovanni
    Participant
    @giovanni

I know of a builder who decided to build a number of townhouses for his own company.  Got approved for finance, and got started… however before first draft, they realized he was basically owner builder and therefore did not qualify for a loan.

Send him in a chaos and had to reapply under a commercial loan, at a greater cost.

Very expensive mistake!

cheers,

G

Profile photo of RPIRPI
    Participant
    @rpi