All Topics / Creative Investing / How to find money for projects?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of mwoodingmwooding
    @mwooding

Hi Everyone,

I currently have 2 investment properties in the South East suburbs of Melbourne.  I have been investing in property for a few years now and after some intial mistakes I have a strategy to renovate and sell properties which is working well. 

I am out every weekend looking at properties and I have seen over 500 in my chosen area in the last 18 months.  I feel I know a lot about the area and agents have started asking me what properties are worth.  I get calls from agents when propeties come on the market.  Some are good opportunities and some are terrible.

My issue is I have no equity left and I have no income left to buy anymore properties.   I currently have used a couple of investors on 50/50 deals which are ongoing. I have a couple of opportunities that are too good to pass up and I need to work out how to purchase them.  I have been unable to find anyone else like minded to invest with me.

The deals in the past have involved JV agreements.  I supplied the investors with project proposals, project plans and weekly spend updates during the renovations. I also have a detailed plan of what will be spend and what the end product will be. 

The two properties I have are looking at profits of around 60 – 80K.  The renovations are purely cosmetic and the work will be completed in 3-6 weeks.  The deal would be 50/50 of the profit with no physical or time input required from the investor.  I have a project manager on site at the properties every day monitoring the tradesmen and ensuring the deadlines are met.  These propeties are to be turned over as fast as possible.

I know there are a lot of finance people on this forum and a lot of people with creative ideas.  What should I do to find people to invest in these properties with me, or is there a way to do it without investors? 

cheers

Marty