All Topics / Help Needed! / The property invest quest Apartments with best returns and where?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of Steven_BelloSteven_Bello
    @steven_bello

Hi all

I'm looking to invest in an apartment over the next few months or investing in a specific area and have a couple of questions:

• What areas are secure right now in the Australian market? Melbourne looks pretty good but also considering some growing areas like Darwin. Any advice? Are there any areas to avoid?
    • Has anyone any experience with buying or investing in serviced apartments? I don't necessarily need immediate returns but are they any good for steady returns?

Advice much appreciated! I'm a bit of a novice

SB

Profile photo of DerekDerek
    @derek

What results are you trying to achieve with your purchase?

My understanding is that apartments in Melbourne were getting close to over-supply. Not sure if the market has changed that much in more recent months but you would need to do further research on this aspect of your decision. 

Certainly the Darwin market is reported to be at an interesting phase with a lot of mining activity feeding the property market. Seem to recall reading an article in recent weeks which suggest that the mining investment in NT was second only to WA. Someone might be able to find the article.

You'll find insurance premiums in Darwin to be higher than down south and you are investing into a smaller, albeit growing market.  

As a rule of thumb apartments tend to have higher body corporate costs, particularly if there is a lift in the building. You will also find that rental returns (in $ terms) and growth rates will track the performance of other properties in the building.